3 years ago1,000+ Views
1) Jones-Shafroth Act (also known as The Jones Act) in 1917 states that all Puerto Ricans born on the island are indeed United States citizens. 2) Puerto Ricans (like other U.S. territories) do not have the same voting privileges as those who are born in The States. They cannot vote for the president of the United States. 3) However, Puerto Rico does have local elections for their own congress. They also follow their own constitution. 4) Even though English is learned in school, Spanish is still the main language used on the island. 5) Puerto Ricans are issued U.S. Passports. 6) In 1952, Puerto Rico became a commonwealth. 7) Puerto Rico still remains as an unincorporated, organized territory of the United States. However, its ambiguous status continues to spark political debates.

8)You don't need a passport to Puerto Rico if you're a U.S. citizen. So hop on a plane (or boat) and enjoy the island!

And yes friends. The money there is the exact money we use here in America. I was asked once before, by someone (who's American) if they needed travelers checks, or should they just change their money at the airport in Puerto Rico. I was really upset.
boricuaaaaa!! @bekka
yess baby Puerto Rico Does it better!!!
I actually did not know some of those but did know it was part of the U.S.
Lol some people just don't know, though!!!! @karencorchado