Is butter considered dairy?
Is ghee dairy free? If you have the same question in mind, this article is just for you. Ghee or clarified butter is the purest form of milkfat which is produced by pure milk butter. Is butter considered dairy? This is another important question. So let's start with the discussion. To know the answer we need to know the ghee making process. Pure cow milk butter is used to make ghee. It is melted at a medium flame until the milk solids are separated from the clarified butter. Finally the mixture is strained through a cheesecloth so that the milk solids are eliminated. The final product is stored in an airtight jar. Ghee is dairy-free as it doesn't contain any milk solids. But if you ask, 'is butter considered dairy', the answer will be different. Butter is made by churning milk cream and it contains lactose and casein. So, people suffering from dairy sensitivity shouldn't consume butter, but they can have ghee. Cow ghee is considered as a better substitute for butter. If you are planning to buy ghee for your dairy-free diet, it will be a great choice. There are several other reasons why you should include ghee in your diet. It is packed with vitamin A, D, E and K as well as several other short, medium and long chain fatty acids. The question, is butter considered dairy, is a common one. Now you know the answer.