2 years ago
shannonl5
in English · 2,756 Views
likes 18clips 13comments 6
If you liked Twilight... read these next!
As much as people anticipate the conclusion of their favorite books, it's no fun when your favorite series is over. Sure, you have movie adaptations to look forward to, and there's always fanfiction. But sometimes you want to fall in love with a book again, one with a bit of the same magic.

I get that feeling. I'm here to help.

Having read far and wide, I'm glad to offer a few book recommendations for those who loved Twilight and are hungry for something new to read!

Demon in My View- Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

Boy meets girl. Boy is a vampire. Sound familiar? Published in 2001, the teenaged author imagined a world running parallel to ours, one where vampires fight for dominance in strict, hierarchical communities.
Though nobody at her high school knows it, Jessica is a published author. Her vampire novel, Tiger, Tiger, has just come out under the pen name Ash Night. Now two new students have just arrived in Ramsa, and both want Jessica’s attention. She has no patience with overly friendly Caryn, but she’s instantly drawn to Alex, a self-assured, mysterious boy who seems surprisingly familiar. If Jessica didn’t know better, she’d think Aubrey, the alluring villain from her novel had just sprung to life. That’s impossible, of course; Aubrey is a figment of her imagination. Or is he?

Read this if you enjoyed Edward's mysterious allure, or felt like you could relate to Bella's snark.

Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter- Laurel K. Hamilton

Anita Blake is a vampire hunter with baggage. Allies and enemies are both living and dead, and Anita's got too much on her plate to have time for romance. Or does she...?
When St. Louis's most powerful vampire comes to Anita Blake for help, she is faced with her greatest fear: a man capable of arousing in her a hunger strong enough to match his own.

Read this if you were Team Edward or Team Jacob and wanted something a little more mature.

Cirque Du Freak- Darren Shan

Two teens fascinated by the macabre end up in a real-life nightmare when they venture into a freak show on the outskirts of town.
Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers-- Mr. Crepsley-- is a vampire!

Read this if you enjoy first-person narratives, and were fascinated by the squeamish parts of Twilight.

The Vampire Lestat- Anne Rice

The original dark prince of vampire literature, Lestat is a charismatic antihero. Rice's work is famous for a reason- she reinvented the vampire thriller genre.
Lestat. The vampire hero of Anne Rice’s enthralling novel is a creature of the darkest and richest imagination. Once an aristocrat in the heady days of pre-revolutionary France, now a rock star in the demonic, shimmering 1980s, he rushes through the centuries in search of others like him, seeking answers to the mystery of his eternal, terrifying existence. His is a mesmerizing story—passionate, complex, and thrilling.

Read this if you want to read one of the earliest modern vampire stories.

Of course, you can always reread your favorite books. But if you're... thirsty for something new, check these out!
shannonl5 clipped in 1 collections
6 comments
View more comments
Definitely a great read @christianmordi she's one of my favorite authors. She also wrote a series about shapeshifters- the first one was Hawksong and I've been meaning to reread it.
2 years ago·Reply
I LOVEEE The Vampire Lestat!! I'll check out maybe one or two of the others. I didn't LOVE twilight but I love vampire/sci-fi/fantasy stories of all sorts so...I can take a chance
2 years ago·Reply
10
@timeturnerjones I wasn't the biggest fan of Twilight either but I definitely have a thing for vampire fantasy stories! I figured starting off with a book a lot of people know might help them to discover old favorites (like my darling Lestat!)
2 years ago·Reply
10
I freaking love the Anita Blake series!!!! it is so sexy and fun and just hardcore!!!!
2 years ago·Reply
10
@EllieDean me too! They're the perfect combo of sexy and supernatural imo
2 years ago·Reply
10