2 years ago
shannonl5
in English · 2,464 Views
likes 15clips 6comments 6
If you liked Lord of The Rings... read these next!
I had a really great time finding recommendations based on Twilight, so I figured I'd compile a list for one of my favorite trilogies of all time, Lord of the Rings. I read those books when I was younger, and I'm definitely due for a re-read. But I know the second I'm finished I'll want something similar to enjoy!
I'm one of those impatient readers that rushes through a book. When I reach the end, I'm devastated, double-checking to see if there might be one more chapter that I can read. If you're like me, the minute you put a book down, you want to read something else like it.

If you loved Lord of the Rings and want something similar to read, here are my recommendations:

Banewreaker & Godslayer by Jacqueline Carey

Remember how Wicked turned the Wizard of Oz around on itself? Carey had the same idea: She tells the epic story of Lord of the Rings from the perspective of the losing side of the epic war. Inspired by the Similarion and other mythologies created by Tolkein, these books dare ask us what the nature of evil is, and question our allegiance to heroism.
If all that is good thinks you evil... are you? Once upon a time, the Seven Shapers dwelled in accord and Shaped the world to their will. But Satoris, the youngest among them, was deemed too generous in his gifts to the race of Men, and so began the Shapers' War, which Sundered the world. Now six of the Shapers lay to one end of a vast ocean, and Satoris to the other, reviled by even the race of Men. Satoris sits in his Darkhaven, surrounded by his allies. Chief among them is Tanaros Blacksword, immortal Commander General of his army. Once a mortal man who was betrayed by King and Wife, Tanaros fled to Darkhaven a thousand years ago, and in Satoris's service has redeemed his honor-but left his humanity behind.Now there is a new prophecy that tells of Satoris's destruction and the redemption of the world. To thwart it, Satoris sends Tanaros to capture the Lady of the Ellylon, the beautiful Cerelinde, to prevent her alliance with the last High King of Men. But Tanaros discovers that not all of his heart has been lost--his feelings for Cerelinde could doom Satoris, but save the race of Men...

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

If your favorite part of Lord of the Rings was actually The Hobbit, you might want to read this instead. It's more light-hearted than Banewreaker and Godslayer, and it's definitely an underdog tale.
Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

Dune by Frank Herbert

Dune is science fiction, not fantasy, but the books definitely deserve a place on this list. The world-building has an epic scope that equals that of Lord of the Rings, and there's a sense of predestination tinged by sacrifice that reflect the heroic journey of Tolkien's characters. They're definitely a dense read, so they should keep you occupied for a while!
Here is the novel that will be forever considered a triumph of the imagination. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad'Dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot against his noble family--and would bring to fruition humankind's most ancient and unattainable dream. A stunning blend of adventure and mysticism, environmentalism and politics, Dune won the first Nebula Award, shared the Hugo Award, and formed the basis of what it undoubtedly the grandest epic in science fiction.

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Sure, everyone and their mother is hip to these books now thanks to the HBO series. If you haven't read them by now, you definitely should, especially if you liked Lord of the Rings. There are plenty of different perspectives and characters for you to get attached to, and the epic scale of these books is very similar. And again, they're very dense and rich in detail. If you're looking for something to read, these books will keep you on your toes!
Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; and a determined woman undertakes the most treacherous of journeys. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

Happy reading everyone!

6 comments
View more comments
I love most of these books so goddamn much. The only ones I haven't read are Banewreaker & Godslayer. I guess I need to get on that immediately.
2 years ago·Reply
20
@VinMcCarthy they're really amazing books! Definitely a cool take on the stories. The orcs are actually my favorite characters in those books- the author made them really sympathetic and interesting.
2 years ago·Reply
I've read everything except the Game of Thrones....I don't know why I'm resisting but I just haven't gotten into it? I know I would like the complexity and so much more about it but I just ....haven't gone there hahaha
2 years ago·Reply
20
@timeturnerjones I wasn't totally sold on it at first either. They start a little bit slow and pick up a few chapters in. It took watching the first season of the tv show for me to really get hooked.
2 years ago·Reply
GOOODDD I FRIGGIN LOVE THE INHERITANCE CYLCE sorry I had to say that
6 months ago·Reply