shannonl5
2 years ago1,000+ Views
As part of my ongoing collection If You Liked This... Read This! I decided to base my next series of book recommendations on John Green's Paper Towns. The film adaptation is being released this week, so pretty soon fans of the story are going to be desperate for something similar to read!

Here are my picks. Let me know what you think!

It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

A surprisingly lighthearted read, 'It's Kind of a Funny Story' is grounded in the real experiences of the author. During his tenure at a mental hospital, the protagonist Greg discovers that the traditional path is not always the right one.
Like many ambitious New York City teenagers, Craig Gilner sees entry into Manhattan's Executive Pre-Professional High School as the ticket to his future. Determined to succeed at life-which means getting into the right high school to get into the right college to get the right job-Craig studies night and day to ace the entrance exam, and does. That's when things start to get crazy. At his new school, Craig realizes that he isn't brilliant compared to the other kids; he's just average, and maybe not even that. He soon sees his once-perfect future crumbling away. The stress becomes unbearable and Craig stops eating and sleeping-until, one night, he nearly kills himself. Craig's suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, isolated from the crushing pressures of school and friends, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety. Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness. For a novel about depression, it's definitely a funny story.

Read this if you liked the introspection and self-discovery of Paper Towns.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

If you've ever been in a fandom, you'll probably relate to this book. Often, fandoms can be a release, a way to comfort yourself during times of stress. However, there's a point where it comes time to balance that freedom with the demands of the world around you.
In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life--and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to. Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone. For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Read this if you appreciated Paper Towns' distinction between fiction and reality.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is another novel about an introverted young man struggling to understand the realities of the world around him. Often confused by other people, Charlie's struggle to make friends and fit in when he enters high school are compounded by memories he doesn't understand.
The critically acclaimed debut novel from Stephen Chbosky, Perks follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends. Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up. A #1 New York Times best seller for more than a year, an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults (2000) and Best Book for Reluctant Readers (2000), and with millions of copies in print, this novel for teen readers (or “wallflowers” of more-advanced age) will make you laugh, cry, and perhaps feel nostalgic for those moments when you, too, tiptoed onto the dance floor of life.

Read this if you liked the not-quite-happy ending of Paper Towns.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

This book is the classic that a lot of people neglected to read in high school. It deserves to be revisited. Salinger's character Holden was the original disenfranchised teenager: fed up with the world and the pressure he feels, unable to sort through his feelings, and convinced everything around him is "phony".
The hero-narrator of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE is an ancient child of sixteen, a native New Yorker named Holden Caulfield. Through circumstances that tend to preclude adult, secondhand description, he leaves his prep school in Pennsylvania and goes underground in New York City for three days. The boy himself is at once too simple and too complex for us to make any final comment about him or his story. Perhaps the safest thing we can say about Holden is that he was born in the world not just strongly attracted to beauty but, almost, hopelessly impaled on it. There are many voices in this novel: children's voices, adult voices, underground voices-but Holden's voice is the most eloquent of all. Transcending his own vernacular, yet remaining marvelously faithful to it, he issues a perfectly articulated cry of mixed pain and pleasure. However, like most lovers and clowns and poets of the higher orders, he keeps most of the pain to, and for, himself. The pleasure he gives away, or sets aside, with all his heart. It is there for the reader who can handle it to keep.

Read this if you'd like to know more about the origins of the Paper Towns' narrator archetype.

Follow my collection for more book recommendations like this one! And let me know if there are any you'd like to see me do next!
12 Like
7 Share
5 comments
@VinMcCarthy I know you're not a fan of John Green, but maybe you'll like some of the recommendations instead?
2 years ago·Reply
Perks of Being a Wallflower and Catcher in the Rye <3<3<3 Both amazing. Both timeless!
2 years ago·Reply
@poojas so true!!
2 years ago·Reply
I loved Perks Of Being A Wallflower and It's Kind Of A Funny Story.. One of the slept upon flicks from Zach Gal for sure
2 years ago·Reply
@chirstianmordi Agreed! Everyone who worked on that did a spectacular job but Zach Galifianakis blew me away with his range and depth.
2 years ago·Reply
12
5
7