2 years ago
shannonl5
in English · 3,193 Views
likes 11clips 5comments 6
If You Liked Room... Read This Next!
Inspired by this card @paulisaverage wrote, this week's book recommendations will be based on Room by Emma Donoghue. I'm building a collection of recommendations like this, so follow if you enjoy them! And if there's a book you'd like me to do next, let me know in the comments!

Here are my picks! Happy reading. :D

If you liked the loss of innocence motif...

You should definitely pick up (or revisit) To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. If you've never read it, the novel addresses extremely difficult subjects like class, racial injustice and rape, with the warmth and hope of the narrator, Scout.
The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic. Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior - to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos.

If you were more interested in the narrative voice...

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon would be a great pick for you. The narrator's unconventional behavior and way of thinking is similar to the narrative voice of Room, as is the main character's relationship with the world.
Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow. This improbable story of Christopher's quest to investigate the suspicious death of a neighborhood dog makes for one of the most captivating, unusual, and widely heralded novels in recent years.

If you were intrigued by the true-crime element of the book...

You should pick up My Story by Elizabeth Smart. Much like the mother in Room, Elizabeth Smart was abducted and held against her will for several years. It's an amazing story, and definitely not for the faint of heart.
For the first time, ten years after her abduction from her Salt Lake City bedroom, Elizabeth Smart reveals how she survived and the secret to forging a new life in the wake of a brutal crime. On June 5, 2002, fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Smart, the daughter of a close-knit Mormon family, was taken from her home in the middle of the night by religious fanatic, Brian David Mitchell and his wife, Wanda Barzee. She was kept chained, dressed in disguise, repeatedly raped, and told she and her family would be killed if she tried to escape. After her rescue on March 12, 2003, she rejoined her family and worked to pick up the pieces of her life.

If you appreciated the character growth as the narrator found his place in the world...

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer follows a similar narrative, though the trauma the main character is coping with is very different.
Nine-year-old Oskar Schell is an inventor, amateur entomologist, Francophile, letter writer, pacifist, natural historian, percussionist, romantic, Great Explorer, jeweller, detective, vegan, and collector of butterflies. When his father is killed in the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centre, Oskar sets out to solve the mystery of a key he discovers in his father's closet. It is a search which leads him into the lives of strangers, through the five boroughs of New York, into history, to the bombings of Dresden and Hiroshima, and on an inward journey which brings him ever closer to some kind of peace.

Happy reading Vinglers!

shannonl5 clipped in 1 collections
6 comments
View more comments
I LOVED Room! It was one of those books that I couldn't put down! I really love Extremely Loud (anything by Safran Foer) and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time! Great picks^^
I loved Room. Have you read Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey? its pretty cool
I really like the way you broke the reading experience into its elements. This is a great idea
@kpopandkimchi @orenshani7 thanks so much! I'm one of those people who finished a book and immediately wants another one like it. @adila I haven't! That will go next on my list. @timeturnerjones ^_^