3 years ago1,000+ Views
It might seem weird at first, but your favourite drink might have more than just alcohol in it. Brewmasters, winemakers, and distillers may include animal ingredients in their products directly, or they might use them in the processing and filtration. When making the product, dairy, honey, and other things are ingredients in the final recipe. When filtering the drinks prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use. These ingredients don’t usually show up on the label but The Barnivore Vegan Alcohol Directory is here to help! Barnivore has over 21,000 entries that have been checked and often double or triple checked by the Barnivore community and are gathered for you to enjoy. What’s your favorite vegan alcohol?